Dinah Hawken

It Has No Sound and is Blue

ISBN: 9780864730480


Winner of the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for Best First Time Published Poet

Most of the poems in this collection, Dinah Hawken's first, were written during a three-year period in New York in the mid-1980s while she was studying for a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing at Brooklyn College and working with the homeless and mentally ill. The volume's centrepiece, 'Writing Home', is a sequence of sixteen unrhymed sonnets, formally modelled on James K. Baxter's Jerusalem Sonnets, but focusing on women's issues, specifically the need to achieve a state of inner balance in a world under threat.

Current stock: 0

Out of print title. Not available for purchase

0 Reviews

Be the first to review this product.

Add a Review