Craig Gamble (ed)

Middle Distance: Long Stories of Aotearoa New Zealand

ISBN: 9781776564323

Available for pre-order only. Available from 11 Nov 2021

November 2021

The stories in Middle Distance travel from the empty expanses of the southern ocean to the fall of a once great house, from the wharekai of a marae to the wasteland of Middle America. Longer than a traditional short story and shorter than a novella, the long story is a form that both compresses and sprawls, expands and contracts, and which allows us to inhabit a world in one sitting. The emerging and established writers in this anthology break new territory in character, setting and storytelling. Each of their stories reveals to us something – intimate, electrifying, funny, beautiful – that we won’t soon forget. 

Middle Distance: Long Fiction of Aotearoa New Zealand is an anthology of new writing from VUP. It follows on from the success of Monsters in the Garden: An Anthology of Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction and Fantasy and, like it, is born out of the long-running literary magazine Sport.


Jack Barrowman

Kathryn van Beek

Octavia Cade

David Geary

Joy Holley

J. Wiremu Kane

Sam Keenan

Samantha Lane Murphy

Anthony Lapwood

Vincent O’Sullivan

Nicole Phillipson

Maria Samuela

Emma Sidnam

Rem Wigmore

Edited and with an introduction by Craig Gamble

600 pages, pbk, 210x138mm.

Cover by Sarah Wilkins

Craig Gamble is a Wellington-based writer who works as Publishing Manager at Victoria University of Wellington Press. His short story ‘The Rule of Twelfths’ appeared in Monsters in the Garden, and his MA thesis The Watch List won the Adam Foundation Prize in 2014.

Current stock: 0

Release Date:
Available for pre-order only. Available from 11 Nov 2021
Calculated at Checkout

0 Reviews

Be the first to review this product.

Add a Review